On ‘poor’ book reviews and writing/taking them constructively

As a reader, I enjoy writing reviews. I love to shout about books I’ve loved or thoroughly enjoyed, and genuinely feel trepidation when I have to write an average or poor review because, as a writer myself, I know how much criticism can hurt. Therefore, I aim (as all reviewers should) to be polite, pick out the good parts as well as the areas that did not work for me, and, above all, be constructive. Trolling or rudeness is unhelpful to writers and readers alike. But even poor reviews are helpful, and here’s why:

Source: On ‘poor’ book reviews and writing/taking them constructively

Leave a Reply

